2017 Spokane Philanthropy Awards

You are here


Thank you to our emcees Dave Sposito and Kevin Parker.

On October 18, 2017 over 350 community members joined together to celebrate acts of compassion in our community at the Spokane Philanthropy Awards. This was the fourth year these awards have been hosted by the Spokane County United Way Emerging Leaders Society. At the ceremony each attendee was asked to volunteer a short four minutes of their time and create a book mark for a student; the result was a thoughtful gift for nearly 400 students and the total of volunteer time added up quickly to twenty-four hours of giving. With giving being the focus of the day, each winner was awarded $1,000 for their charity of choice.

Philanthropic Granting Agency (grant making entities such as private foundations, organizations that raise private funds, and grant making organizations)

Winner: Exchange Club of Downtown Spokane

Grotto Foundation
Northwest Entrepreneur Competition
Providence Health Care
Spokane Public Schools Foundation
The Krista Foundation for Global Citizenship
Avista Foundation
Blood Center Foundation of the Inland Northwest
Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation

Philanthropic Small Business (100 and under employees)

Winner: U-District PT

Associated Industries
No-Li Brewhouse
Physician's Insurance
PrimeSource Credit Union
River City Brewing
Witherspoon Kelly

Philanthropic Corporation (100+ employees)

Winner: Rosauers Supermarkets Inc.

Comcast Communications
Guardian Life Insurance Company
Moss Adams LLP
Northwest Farm Credit Services
Washington Trust Bank
Whitworth University

Outstanding Philanthropist and Emerging Philanthropist (individual, couple, or family)

Winner of Outstanding Philanthropist: Ed and Beatriz Schweitzer

Winner of Emerging Philanthropist: Skyler Oberst

Amanda Swan Roadruck
Ann McElyea
Becky Van Keulen Avante
Eric Sletten and Rich Godsil
Harold and Priscilla Gilkey
Irv Zakheim
Jim and Linda Hunt
Joyce Cameron
Kevin Parker
Richard Clark
Stu Steiner

Outstanding Young Philanthropist (up to age 21)

Winner: Brooke DeRuwe

Cooper Cervelli
Isabel Elena Muniz
Isabel Hoggatt
Jessica Hanson
Maggie Bailey
Mesfin Symons
Rachel Messer
Sylvia Fleming
Trinity Torres
Tyler Fiorino


Click here to view last years' award winners and videos.

Thanks to our Judges

Susan Ashe - Executive Director, Health Sciences & Services of Spokane County
Lisa Brown - Chancellor, Washington State University Spokane
Freda Gandy - Executive Director, Martin Luther King, Jr. Family Outreach Center
Tim Henkel - President and CEO, Spokane County United Way
Craig Meidl - Chief of Police, Spokane Police Department
Don Poffenroth - President and CEO, Dry Fly Distilling
Barb Richey - Vice President of Marketing, Spokane Teachers Credit Union

This event proudly sponsored by:

Title Sponsor

Media Sponsor

Pre-reception Sponsor


Organization Sponsor